top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealicecolton

Isolation Report: Week 1

Tomorrow marks 1 week of self-isolation for me. My isolation situation is pretty unique. My brother and sister in law and their two daughters, one being a baby, have been living in our house, since January so when I returned home from university to isolate with my family, I completed an 8 person household (including the dog). This has been a blessing. Of course, it is hard sharing a house with so many people, and I don’t even have my actual bedroom, but our house is fairly spacious and it is great to have so much company. 




Whilst I was still in Leeds my experience was not so positive. I felt anxious every day for almost a week. I was constantly on the verge of a panic attack and felt a constant sense of dread. Now, back home, I am much more relaxed and both having my amazing family to be locked up with and keeping myself busy has helped massively.


Week one isolation essentials:


  • Post-it note to-do lists for both uni work, exercise and fun

  • Coke Zero

  • Nike Fitness App (I have been going HARD on workouts, my whole body aches and I have picked up Yoga)

  • Mum (does that feeling of ‘I need my mum’ ever really go?)

  • Walks with household

  • Facetime/Instagram Messages 

  • The garden (my thoughts are with those without gardens)



I have been in a little bit of a slump the last 2 days work-wise but I am pushing through. OCD is mostly in check, I have a few odd thoughts like ‘if I curl my hair today something bad will happen’, so I curled my damn hair. Bring on week 2.


*The isolation rules at the moment are that only essential workers should be going to work and only when they cannot do it at home. You should only go out for one form of exercise a day, alone or with your household. Do not meet up with others. All bars, pubs, restaurants, gyms, schools, colleges, universities and cinemas are shut. Only shops selling the essentials are open. All school children are being homeschooled, only those with two key worker parents are at school. University is all online. You should keep at least 2 metres away from anyone, not in your household, this was all implemented to days ago on Monday 23rd March*


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page